Highway Maintenance Contractors Honoured for Innovation

Highway Maintenance Contractors Honoured for Innovation

A real-time system for tracking Alberta’s 600 snow plows which was developed in partnership with provincial highway maintenance contractors has received the 2018 Award of Excellence for Operational Innovation.

Winners of the 2018 Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation were announced on Monday night at the annual Tri-Party Transportation Conference in Red Deer.

The award for Operational Innovation honoured the 511 Alberta citizen reporter app and Alberta snow plows tracking website. The Alberta Roadbuilders & Heavy Construction Association accepted the award on behalf of the province’s highway maintenance contractors. Sharing the award were Alberta Transportation, ISM Canada, and Telenium Inc.

In announcing the award, Alberta Transportation noted the citizen reporting app and snowplow tracker were “firsts” for Alberta.

“In 2016, 511 Alberta launched two new platforms that have taken their road reporting service to the next level. The Citizen Reporter app enlists trained Albertans to report on road conditions. So far, nearly 1,500 active users have submitted more than 6,500 highway condition reports. The results? Improved data quality and coverage, and reduced costs. The Alberta Snowplows website is a joint effort between 511 Alberta and the province’s highway maintenance contractors. The website improves safety for travellers and snowplow operators by displaying the real-time locations of 600 snowplows.”

Congratulations as well to all the ARHCA members who are winners of the 2018 Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation:

Award of Excellence for Design Innovation: 12th Street South East Calgary Bridge Replacement – CH2M (now Jacobs), The City of Calgary, Parsons, Westpro, Rapid Span, Lafarge, RJ Watson Inc., GOAL Engineering.

Award of Excellence for Construction Innovation: Macleod Trail and 162 Avenue South, Diverging Diamond Interchange – The City of Calgary, ISL Engineering and Land Services Ltd., Graham Infrastructure LP.

Award of Excellence for Environmental Innovation: First Long-Range Battery Powered Electric Buses – City of St. Albert, BYD Canada.

Award of Excellence for Safety Innovation: Wind Advisory System on Highway 22 – Alberta Transportation, DTN LLC, VER-MAC, EPCOR, Amec Foster Wheeler, IBI Group, Volker Stevin Highways Ltd., Campbell Scientific.

Award of Excellence for Transit/Accessible Transportation Innovation: Downtown Edmonton’s Barrier Free Pedestrian Link – Graham Infrastructure LP, City of Edmonton, DIALOG.

Click HERE to learn more about this year’s award winners.

The annual Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation recognize the innovative people and organizations in Alberta who plan, design, construct, operate or maintain a roadway, transit service or related initiative. Awards are presented to projects that have improved efficiency, benefited the environment, reduced costs and improved safety.

The awards are part of an ongoing partnership with the Consulting Engineers of Alberta, the Alberta Roadbuilders and Heavy Construction Association, the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association and the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties.